Learn About Astrology

The 12 signs are recognized according to element and quality or modality. The first category reads as follows: Earth, Fire, Water & Air. 


Qualities (There are three qualities in Astrology)

Fixed: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius (Determined)

Cardinal: Aries, Libra, Cancer and Capricorn  (Initiators)

Mutable: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces  (Flexible)

How are they different and what does this mean?

Fixed signs are creative, loyal, emotional, subtle, persistent, intense, obstinate and unyielding. They are the organizers of the zodiac. They tend to move more methodically than cardinal signs and can be seen as stubborn. They don't like change and they are always on the lookout to establish a strong sense of security. 

Mutable signs are reserved, modest, practical, discriminating, industrious, analytical, painstaking as they seek to know and understand. They love to communicate. They are flexible, changeable and communicative. They don't get locked into belief systems and can be extremely open minded.

Cardinal signs  come across as determined and are very quick to seize opportunities. They are always on the go, impatient and great at starting things. But unless a project or relationship holds their attention, they lose interest and may not always finish what they start.

Elements (There are four elements in Astrology) Earth, Air, Fire & Water

Water:  Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces: (Keywords of Water signs are Sensitive, Reflective and Intuitive) Water signs live their lives through feelings and intuitions.

Fire: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius: (Keywords for Fire signs are Aggressive and Idealistic) Fire signs are optimistic  about whatever they do.

Earth: Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn: (Keywords of Earth signs are Studious and Disciplined) Earth signs are the builders of the zodiac. They are practical.

Air: Gemini, Libra and Aquarius: - (Keywords for Air signs are Analytical and Social) Air signs live in world of ideas and information. They are the BEST communicators in the zodiac.


The Overall Blending Elements and Qualities

Fire Signs – Aries, Leo and Sagittarius

Fire blends well with Fire and Air but will need tolerance and patience when blending well with Earth and Water signs.

Air Signs- Gemini, Libra and Aquarius

Air blends well with Fire and Air but will need to exercise tolerance when dealing with Earth and Water.

Water Signs – Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces

Water blends easily with Water and Earth but requires extra tolerance to blend with Fire and Air.

Earth Signs – Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn

Earth blends easily with Water and Earth but will need patience to blend with Fire and Air.